Giving Away a Mac Running macOS 12 Monterey? Try Erase All Content and Settings

Before macOS 12 Monterey, if you wanted to sell, trade in, or give away your Mac, you had to boot into Recovery, erase the internal drive with Disk Utility, and reinstall macOS to ensure that the new owner would get a fresh start and couldn’t see any of your data. In Monterey, Apple has made the process much easier for newer Macs that use Apple silicon or that are Intel-based with a T2 security chip. Open System Preferences, and from the System Preferences menu (yes, it has menus), choose Erase All Content and Settings. You’ll have to enter an administrator username and password to enter the Erase Assistant. It suggests you back up to Time Machine before erasing, and if you’ve already done that or don’t want to, click Continue. Verify everything that will be erased on the next screen and click Continue. Finally, log out of your Apple ID when prompted to complete the erasure.

Blog Photo

Are You Getting Quality Mac Support From Your PC MSP?

We have assisted many businesses in implementing MDMs, developing custom security policies and procedures, and redesigning their networks.The list goes on and on. Contact us today and see how we can help you too.

Contact Sales

Drop us a line.

We are a remote and fully distributed, Nationwide Apple focused MSP serving Washington DC, Philadelphia, New York, Chicago, San Francisco, San Diego & more.

We focus on providing top notch Mac Support for small to mid-sized businesses. Contact us, and learn how we can help your company.

Full Name
Your email address
Phone Number
Company Name
How many Mac's & PC's do you have?
How many employees do you have?
Where are you located?
What challenges are you facing?
Apple Consultants Network
Subscribe for Email Updates
Full Name
Email

© Grove Technologies is a registered service mark trademark of Grove Technologies. Privacy Policy | Terms of Service. Cookie Preferences