Disable Unused Sharing Options on Your Mac If You're Not Using Them

Many security breaches—even high-profile ones—stem from simple oversight. There’s one spot in macOS that has long been particularly susceptible to such lapse: the Sharing pane of System Preferences. In it, you can enable a wide variety of sharing services, some of which could allow another user to access your Mac remotely. They all let you limit access to particular users, but passwords can be stolen, accounts can be compromised, and server software can have bugs. For safety’s sake, if you’re not actively using a sharing service, turn it off. The most important ones to disable when not in use are Screen Sharing, File Sharing, Remote Login, Remote Management, and Remote Apple Events. We also caution against leaving Printer Sharing and Internet Sharing on unnecessarily.

Blog Photo

Are You Getting Quality Mac Support From Your PC MSP?

We have assisted many businesses in implementing MDMs, developing custom security policies and procedures, and redesigning their networks.The list goes on and on. Contact us today and see how we can help you too.

Contact Sales

Drop us a line.

We are a remote and fully distributed, Nationwide Apple focused MSP serving Washington DC, Philadelphia, New York, Chicago, San Francisco, San Diego & more.

We focus on providing top notch Mac Support for small to mid-sized businesses. Contact us, and learn how we can help your company.

Full Name
Your email address
Phone Number
Company Name
How many Mac's & PC's do you have?
How many employees do you have?
Where are you located?
What challenges are you facing?
Apple Consultants Network
Subscribe for Email Updates
Full Name
Email

© Grove Technologies is a registered service mark trademark of Grove Technologies. Privacy Policy | Terms of Service. Cookie Preferences